## **MINUTES**

## **BOARD OF REGENTS**

## South Plains College

## April 11, 2019

The Board of Regents of South Plains College met on Thursday, April 11, 2019, at 11:45 a.m. in the Regency Dining Room for lunch. After lunch, the Board members adjourned to the Board of Regents Room for their regular meeting with the following present: Mr. Mike Box, Chairman; Mr. Bobby Neal, Vice Chairman; Ms. Linda Patton, Secretary; and other members of the Board; Mr. Pete Pettiet; Mr. Richard Ellis; Mr. Ken Williams and Mr. Ronny Alexander. Others present were Dr. Ryan Gibbs; Dr. Stan DeMerritt; Ms. Teresa Green; Mr. Stephen John; Mr. Stephen Henry of the Hockley County News-Press; Mr. Jody Rose of KLVT Radio; and Ms. Kaitlyn Hyde of the Plainsman Press; Ms. Myrna Whitehead, News and Information Coordinator; and Dr. Robin Satterwhite.

Guests Present: Mr. Roger Reding, Director of Athletics; Mr. Steve Green, Men's Basketball Coach; Ms. Cayla Petree, Women's Basketball Coach; Mr. Dane Dewbre, Associate Dean of Marketing and Recruitment, Mr. Matt Ballentine, and Nathan Boyd, Visual Communication Specialists.

Mr. Neal gave the opening prayer.

Mr. Box led the pledge to the United States Flag.

The Chairman asked if there were any changes to be made to the minutes of the regular March 7 meeting and the special meeting on March 28, 2019. There being none, Mr. Alexander made a motion to accept the minutes as presented. Second by Ms. Patton, vote to approve was unanimous.

Mr. Box asked congratulated Coach Green and Coach Petree on their team's successful basketball seasons. The men's team advanced to the Final Four during the 2019 NJCAA National Championship in Hutchinson, Kansas. The women's team made their first Elite Eight appearance in program history during the 2019 NJCAA National Championship in Lubbock, Texas. Coach Petree was also named the WCJAC co-coach of the year for the 2018-2019 season.

Dr. Satterwhite then presented the proposed employment list for 2019-2020. See Exhibit #4364. The list includes several replacements due to retirements and relocations. Mr. Pettiet made a motion to approve the Employment List, second by Mr. Neal. Vote to approve was unanimous.

The Chairman called on the Vice President for Student Affairs. Dr. DeMerritt gave an update in Student Affairs. He announced the hiring of Mr. Shane Hill, Associate Dean of Students.

The Chairman called on the Vice President for Academic Affairs. Dr. Gibbs gave an update on Guided Pathways.

The Chairman called on the Vice President for Business Affairs for her report. Ms. Green presented the Tax Office Report and Financial Reports. The Chairman asked if there were any questions regarding the reports, there being none, and Ms. Patton made a motion that the Board accept the reports as shown in Exhibits #4365 and #4366. Second by Mr. Williams and the motion carried unanimously. Ms. Green also asked the Board to approve a Resolution

for Depository Extension (exhibit #4367) for one additional two-year term. Mr. Pettiet made the motion to approve the resolution. Ms. Patton seconded and the vote to approve was unanimous.

The Chairman called on the Vice President for Institutional Advancement for his report. Mr. John asked Regents to consider a resolution (Exhibit #4368) designating Kathy Hutchinson of Levelland, Texas, and Brett Taylor of Aledo, Texas, as Distinguished Alumni of South Plains College for 2019. Mr. John explained the process for selecting this year's distinguished alumni and said the Distinguished Alumni Recommendation Committee presented four nominees to Dr. Satterwhite for the final selection. Mrs. Hutchinson is a 1977 graduate of SPC and currently serves as the director of special education with the South Plains Educational Co-op. Mr. Taylor is a 1980 graduate of SPC and is the owner of Taylor Companies. Following the reading of the resolution, Mr. Neal made the motion to adopt the resolution. Motion was second by Ms. Patton. Motion passed unanimously.

Mr. John then introduced Dane Dewbre, associate dean of marketing and recruitment, who presented two marketing projects that received national Paragon Award recognition from the National Council for Marketing and Public Relations. Mr. Dewbre also introduced Matt Ballentine, visual communications specialist, who was recognized with a Silver Paragon award in the electronic viewbook category and Nathan Boyd, visual communications specialist/videographer, who received a Gold Paragon award in the quick-turn video category.

The Chairman called on the President for his report. Dr. Satterwhite presented the South Plains College twenty-year master plan; see exhibit #4369. Dr. Satterwhite recommended to the Board to raise the instructional support fee at the Lubbock, Reese and Plainview Centers by \$10 per credit hour, raise the out-of-district and non-resident tuition fee by \$5 per credit hour, and raise the internet course fee by \$5 per credit hour. See exhibit #4370. Mr. Alexander made the motion to approve all increases. Mr. Neal seconded and the Board voted unanimously in favor. Dr. Satterwhite then presented an amended MOU between South Plains College, the city of Lubbock, and LEDA. See exhibit #4371. Mr. Neal made a motion to accept the amended MOU. Mr. Pettiet seconded and the vote to approve was unanimous. Dr. Satterwhite also informed the Board that the track bleacher project has been completed.

Finally, Dr. Satterwhite presented a calendar of upcoming events (exhibit #4372) Board members are invited to attend throughout the end of the semester.

Board Chairman Mike Box also appointed a committee of Regents to review a Performance Agreement that has been drafted by the Lubbock Economic Development Alliance. The committee will include Mr. Box, Ronny Alexander, and Richard Ellis.

Meeting adjourned.

Chairman

Secretary